Audi A8 This full sized Audi A8 sedan offers interior luxury and spaciousness comparable to any car in the full sized luxury sedan class

2003 Audi A8L Fuel Pump fix.. Help!

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2011, 11:13 PM
2nd Gear
Default 2003 Audi A8L Fuel Pump fix.. Help!

Hey Guys,

I've been a lurker for a while and have found lots of information and help from searching through this forum but now I need to dive in a ask for some input on a problem I'm having with my wife's 2003 A8L.

First off, let me say that I'm an experienced mechanic and have been working on older Porsche and Audi cars for almost 20 years. I have an 87 Porsche 944, an 84 Porsche 928S, a 76 Porsche 914 2.0 (All original), an 87 Audi 5000S Quattro, and finally the newest member of the stable, the aforementioned 2003 Audi A8L.

This is the first real repair I've had to make on the A8 and it's got me puzzled. Some background on the problem. For the past few months the car will start right away, and sometimes you will have to turn the engine over for a couple or three seconds before the engine will fire. It's always ran smooth either way. A couple of weeks ago the problem has gotten worse and week before last my wife calls me from work and tells me the A8 will not start. It turns over but won't start.

I go up to check it out, tools and all. I get to checking and start with the basics. Fuel? Spark?.. I crack the fuel line open at the engine and not a drop comes out. I have the wife turn the car over with the fuel line slightly open and no fuel. I'm thinking, and hoping it's just a relay issue. After searching for the relay that evening, I can't find it. So we leave the car and I come home to browse through the ElsaWin CD Manual and find the blasted thing.