Audi A8 This full sized Audi A8 sedan offers interior luxury and spaciousness comparable to any car in the full sized luxury sedan class

Radio Code Reset

  #1  
Old 07-29-2010, 06:49 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8
Default Radio Code Reset

Similar to so many others, I have had to replace the battery in my 1999 Audi A6 Quattro. The system is a Bose with 6 disc changer. It is in Safe Mode and I cannot find the correct steps to unlock the system even though I found the code on a small sticker inside the glovebox (It may have been placed there by the previous owner. I have no way of knowing its accuracy.) However, to date I have not even gotten to that point. Can someone, please, outline the steps necessary to enter the code? What are the first two buttons to hold simultaneously to bring up "1000" or the default code within the radio? How do I enter a number that includes an "8" and a "0" when neither of those numbers are included in the preset buttons? Your assistance will be greatly appreciated and will most likely help others as well. Thanks.
 
  #2  
Old 07-29-2010, 07:27 PM
2nd Gear
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 624
Default

Assuming it's the same procedure as the Bose, 6CD on an '01 A8:

1. Press "P.CSAN" & "RBDS" buttons simultaneously until "1000" appears.

2. Let go immediately when "1000" appears...holding too long or doing it twice, at this point, will make radio think you're trying "1000" as the code.

3. Use station buttons 1 thru 4 only. Hold each in (one at a time) until correct code number appears in that position (each will display from 0 thru 9), then go to next.

4. When the proper 4 digit code is displayed, hold in "P.SCAN" & "RBDS" buttons again simultaneously until "SAFE" appears.

5. Let go immediately and a frequency should appear.

All should return to normal...worked on my car, when battery had been disconnected for an electrical repair.

If you make a mistake or it doesn't take, "SAFE" will flash, then stay on steady again. Start over again with step #1.

Good Luck
 

Last edited by silverd2; 07-29-2010 at 07:31 PM.
  #3  
Old 07-31-2010, 11:54 PM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8
Default

Thank you for the quick and helpful reply. I did have to make an adjustment for my particular vehicle with the Bose Concert System. The two buttons (for my system)that have to be held in simultaneously are the FM2 and the RDS. Other than that adjustment your instructions were spot on and worked like a charm. Your help is greatly appreciated.
 
  #4  
Old 08-01-2010, 08:56 AM
2nd Gear
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 624
Default

Good to know, for others, about the correct 2 buttons. Mine was for the bose symphony.
Happy to help.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
MartinCieslak1
B5 Models
2
09-15-2010 03:43 PM
sk8bikesurf
General Tech
3
09-05-2007 04:12 AM
onebadgixxer
Audi A4
3
11-06-2006 06:09 PM
naadan1432
Audi A4
4
07-08-2006 10:22 PM
konboy22
Audi A4
2
04-13-2005 07:19 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Radio Code Reset


Advertising
Featured Sponsors

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.