Audi TT The Audi TT line, in both the coupe and roadster combines Audi's All Wheel Drive performance with the feel of a European sports car.

Help Please in Vegas

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2007, 07:23 PM
1st Gear
Default Help Please in Vegas

Does anyone that lives in the Vegas area have a Vag-Com that could hook up to my 2000 audi to check why the CEL is on and why the temp gauge goes almost to the top of the gauge, but no warning light. I reset the ECU to clear the CEL, and it works until the car gets hot again.

It is not the oil cooler, there is no coolant in the oil, or oil in the coolant.

Any help will be greatly appreciated and i will compensate.

I am new to Audi's and car repair, but have a great background in superbike repair so i can hold my own under instruction.

Thanks in advance,

Bryan Meanse

*** Edit: I plan on getting a VAG-COM as soon as i get on my feet here in Vegas... I just moved a month ago and i dont have the 400$ to buy one at the time.

Old 09-25-2007, 08:28 PM
cmh
Default RE: Help Please in Vegas

The temp gauge/fuel gauge malfunction is an indicator of a bad cluster. TT's have a notorious problem with the gauge clusters going bad- you have the option of replacing the entire unit $850, or sending it out for a repair $300ish. Do a search, lots of info about failing instrument clusters.

Old 09-25-2007, 08:29 PM
2nd Gear

Check out a auto parts store, they have read my cels before for free.

Old 09-25-2007, 08:53 PM
1st Gear

no places in Vegas do it for free i called around.

To cmh: Everything else on my cluster works 100%. No LED's are burnt out, and the gas gauge still reads perfect. I dont know if that makes any diffrence... i hope its not the cluster

I'm thinking (or hoping) it is maybe a bad coolant sensor or a thermostat

Old 09-25-2007, 09:00 PM
4th Gear

2000 TT's have the blue top sensor, no reason to replace them.
Are your fan working? Maybe a blown fuse?

Autozone sells a cheaper portable version of vag-com.