B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

Audi A4 ECM Help Please

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2009, 02:47 PM
Default Audi A4 ECM Help Please

Sorry for the newb questions this is my first Audi experience lol I'm a ASE master tech at a Lincoln dealer and my friend has the Audi (1999 Audi A4 1.8t manual) she called me crying because they wanted to charge her almost $900 to replace the ECU.

I picked up an ECM today and they said if it’s an AEB engine (pn# 8D0 907 557 P) that an ECM from an auto or stick would work but if it’s another type (can't remember what the name was) it will need one that is for a stick only. What’s the difference between the two and what’s the easiest way I can have her check? I got the 1st eight of the VIN "WAUCB280" but none of the VIN decoders I found will give the engine code for an Audi that was for sale in the US

Now this shop is saying it will have to be programmed to the vehicle and they don’t know how long it will take. Now I've flashed the ROM in ECUs for software updates and such and it’s only about a 10-15 min process. Does it sound like they are just trying to milk her for money? Her discretion of the problem was that it "went electrical crazy" lol yah not much help.

Old 05-07-2009, 03:15 PM
3rd Gear

if its a 99 1.8t its as AEB engine. but you have to look at the part number on the ECU itself. an auto ECU will work on a manual car but you need to change a bunch on the software level. its much easier to just go into the classified section on here or try vwvortex.com or audizine.com and look for used ECU's with the same part number. there are a few different ECU's for various years even with the same AEB engine so make sure you match the part number off the one that is in there. used ECU's go for $100-200 and take 2 minuits to install. if you find one with a 'chip' upgrade it gives the car a free extra 50hp and 50tq.

Old 05-08-2009, 05:36 PM