B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

Audi noob requesting purchase help

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-2013, 07:51 PM
1st Gear
Default Audi noob requesting purchase help

Ok, complete newbie to Audis here. I'm actually helping my son out looking for his first car, and we found a 1998 Audi A4 Quattro 2.8l 5Spd with 214K Miles

If we decide to make an offer we'll definitely have it looked over by a mechanic, but we drove it today, and it seems to be in excellent shape. Drove very well, seemed very tight. A couple of minor things in the interior, but nothing bad for the asking price.

Can someone point me to a buyers guide, or give me some hints at what to look for that might need to be worked on? We were told it had the timing belt replaced at 160K along with the valve cover gaskets. The only thing that's a red flag to me right now is that at 214K it supposedly has the original clutch (!). The clutch gripped and operated just fine, but still.... how much is a clutch replacement and/or can a DIYer do it himself? (I've done a couple clutches before but don't know how the Audi is laid out).

Any info you can give will be greatly appreciated!

Old 04-02-2013, 09:15 PM
1st Gear

It's about due for another timing belt.

Old 04-02-2013, 10:20 PM
1st Gear

timing belts are due every 75,000 miles... i just did mine... im at 145,000 miles now... the clutch to my understanding is not that complex at all... my clutch needs replacement because the previous owner did not know how to drive manual... just have your mechanic check for leaks... the 2.8's are sometimes known for rack and pinion seal leaks, wheel bearings, control arms, tie rod ends (basicly suspension components) and also ask about how much life the brakes have... oh and one more thing... these cars also have bad front axles so check those too... good luck

Old 04-03-2013, 06:53 AM
1st Gear

Originally Posted by the-other-geoff