B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

CEL flashed on now it's gone

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2013, 08:36 AM
1st Gear
Default CEL flashed on now it's gone

I'm new to Audi, bought a 2000 2.8 A4 Quattro as a second car. The prior owner was a friend of a friend who took decent car of the car.

On Wednesday my CEL flashed on the dash for about 5 seconds and kinda stumbled for a second but went back to normal. The next day it happened again for a few seconds and back to normal again. I took it for a longer drive yesterday and had no CEL and the car ran fine, and today no problems, should I be concerned?

I took it to Autozone yesterday to have them run codes and nothing came up, weird??. Any ideas what can cause this, the PO had the plugs, wires and coil pack replaced a year ago, Timing belt done 8k ago, valve cover gaskets done 5k, next oil change due in 2k.

I've been reading a bit about VAG-Com, is this something I can get from Ebay and download to my PC and run diagnostics/, which one should I get.

Any help appreciated

Old 12-08-2013, 09:21 AM
2nd Gear

You can get the VAG lite software here:
Ross-Tech: VCDS

and then get the cable off ebay, a cheap one, but it won't work as well as the one that you can get with the full software from Ross.

A lot of auto zone hand held scanners don't pull all the audi codes.... If you get the VAG or go to a service shop, it may pull the codes, or just see on this forum if there is a fellow audi enthusiast in your area that has a VAG Com already....

Old 12-08-2013, 12:15 PM
1st Gear

Originally Posted by kozhouse
On Wednesday my CEL flashed on the dash for about 5 seconds and kinda stumbled for a second but went back to normal. The next day it happened again for a few seconds and back to normal again. I took it for a longer drive yesterday and had no CEL and the car ran fine, and today no problems, should I be concerned?