B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

Replacing Worn Suspension Parts, Which Parts?

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2010, 10:39 AM
Talking Replacing Worn Suspension Parts, Which Parts?

----What are the common parts in the front suspenion that wear out and need to be reaplaced at 125k miles? (Don't want to replace everything up front)

Suspension never touched, stock. Front end makes lovely noises while hitting bumps, sounds like ball joints. Here is the problem. I live in downtown Chicago with no access to any tools. I would like to buy parts online and have them sent to my parents house in Michigan to do the work while I am at my parents for Easter. So I have only one day to do the work, and I don't know exactly what needs to be replaced. I will have no problem doing the work, I have a lot of experience working on cars.

My guess is that I should buy upper control arms and sway bar link bushings for both sides. (I can see the sway bar link bushings are worn out, but nothing else I have noticed with a wheel off)

Thank you.

Old 03-22-2010, 11:16 AM
Super Moderator

Get a kit and replace it all or only whats bad, then when something goes bad you already have the part! I bought my front end kit for $300 and got everything driver and passenger. Replaced whole passenger side and only tie rod end on driver... It'll save ya cash in the long run.

Old 03-22-2010, 12:15 PM
Administrator

Yep do it all. My kit from FCP Groton was $242.10 shipped. Gives all 8 front control arms, both outer TREs, and swaybar end links. Worth the effort and time - my car feels like it's brand-new now.

Old 03-22-2010, 12:44 PM
Administrator

I would agree with Choco and Devil, buying all at once will save you TONS of cash. I learned that lesson the hard way. My only concern is that you said you only have one day to do the work. Do you think you can replace 8 control arms,TRE's, plus the end links in one day?

Old 03-22-2010, 12:54 PM
Administrator