B7 Models Please discuss all 2005.5 - 2008 B7 A4 topics here...

DIY B7 A4 Quad Tail Lights MOD retain factory dual fogs no warning light on dash!

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2012, 10:33 AM
1st Gear
Cool DIY B7 A4 Quad Tail Lights MOD retain factory dual fogs no warning light on dash!

I just posted in another section but the layout on this forum is kinda weird so i thought I'd post here. Okay first off just wanted to say her everyone I am a newbie on this forum but not a noob in the normal sense.
I have searched for hours trying to find a DIY that explains this, on my b7. This DIY is specifically b7 style to have quad taillights without having the fog light out warning, and still keep the rear fogs when you needed them. So I wrote this up on how I accomplished this.

ETA:25 with bathroom break

Tools and parts needed:
6-pack of beer, or 12
Crimper/Cutters
A flat head Screw Driver
two 12v 5pin relays
assortment of wire (at least 4 colors)
t-taps and many male and female end connectors

Now that we have the parts crack open a beer and take the left taillight off. I'm not going to explain this because if you are willing to do this mod then you should be able to remove the taillight.

On the harness for the taillight there are 5 wires each numbered on the plug. Find pin number 1 and t-tap it. Mine was a red with white (red/white) wire. leave the taillight off for now as we will get to it in a minute.

Now we are going to prep the two relays, you can go inside and do this on the couch. There are 5 pins on the bottom of the relay. Im not going to explain hey they all work that's why youtube exists, I will simply tell you which to connect, and how.

We are going to color code this to make it as easy and painless as possible.

Red = 12v source to power up the relay
Black = Ground
Gray = Wire from relay to rear fog light
Yellow = wire from Rear fog switch to Relay
White = Brake Signal