Classic Audi A section to discuss the models that have made Audi famous of the years...

new audi pick up, have a few questions

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2007, 06:02 AM
1st Gear
Default new audi pick up, have a few questions

First off, I'm new to audis and cars in general. I'm 18, I had a 90 civic wagon awd up until two weeks ago. I've always been attracted to audi's and decided to save up for one. I picked up a very well taken care of 93 90sport quattro. I got a pre purchase inspection and there were some things wrong with it. But they did keep stressing the fact that this car was well taken care of.

Okay, well here's the list of thing's they said I'm gunna have to fix within the next 3 or 4 months.

*the valley pan gasket has oil residue and it may need to be replaced
*there is rust in the coolant system and needs to be flushed
*right side of the rear differential axle is leaking
*the "oil pan is leaking and main front seal??" (I have no idea what the question marks mean but that's what they put on the invoice)
*the left rear stabilizer bar end link needs to be replaced
*and they couldn't tell me anything specifically but the brakes on this car are crazy touchy and there's no inbetween on them. Like, you can't feel any pressure building up and once the brakes grab, they grab hard. They said it might be a brake booster but couldn't tell me much more.

All of this is going to cost me a little over a grand if I take it to a shop.
So this brings me to the reason why I posted this.

Is there anything I can do on my own with my dad? He knows somewhat a lot about german cars and could help out a lot.

Old 12-11-2007, 08:44 PM
1st Gear
Default RE: new audi pick up, have a few questions

depends on how experience you guys are with cars. If it was my dad and i we would be able to do that entire list and then find more things wrong, but my dad was a self employed mechanic for 30 years. ...