Required Repairs vs Nice Haves -

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2014, 05:32 PM
1st Gear
Question Required Repairs vs Nice Haves -

Hello everyone. I feel like I messed up. Last week I purchased an Audi A4 3.2 Quattro - Premium Plus that had over 70K miles and was As Is (no warranty). The price I got for it was about $2.5K below market price, however, I was trusting and I did not do a pre-purchase inspection - I trusted the guy and the vehicle had been serviced like clock-work (based off of carfax reports). I visually checked for leaks, wear on tires, under the vehicle for any oil residue and scratches. Nothing. The vehicle looked great... I'm not a mechanic and know just enough to

Today I went into an independent shop whom has great reviews on Yelp and asked them to do the 75K mile service. The guys were great and I really want to trust them. However, I told them that I just got it and that I didn't do pre-inspection on the vehicle and that I wanted a full review. Anyways, this is what they quoted:

Rear Pads and Rotors - $500 (I asked if the rotors were touching my pads and asked why I needed new rotors. He stated that they were below spec. My brakes feel fine - not one vibration. He said I still have 4mm of padding.)

Left Engine Mount - $1,100 (He said he would replace the right one as well)

Lower wish bone bushings - $420 (Stated it was a critical/priority repair)

Upper control arm bushings - $625 (Also priority)

Left rear shock - $730 (would include the right one as well as the left one is leaking).

Tires - no price quoted. However, he wanted me to get a new set today. I asked him how many miles I had left on the tires and he said about 4K. However, due to the other items that needed repair, some of the tires had been damaged (not sure what to what extent).

I'm a bit overwhelmed and I'm really looking for guidance here. I'm not sure what should be priority. The car rides smooth and really only shakes once I approach speeds about 65mph.