Exterior Talk about your rims, body kits, and other exterior mods here.

DIY headlight LED DRL mod - A6 C5

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2011, 02:35 PM
1st Gear
Default DIY headlight LED DRL mod - A6 C5

Hi,

I'm new to this great forum, and this is my first post here. English is not my native language, so please excuse me for possible mistakes.

I recently bought an US-imported '98 Audi A6 2.8 Quattro. I like to add a little touch of customization to my cars, and this is the first mod I did to that babe. I liked the looks of newer A4 and R8 and tried to do something similar. Also I didn't like the amber parking lights (hope this is the correct US term) and reflectors in the headlights (which should be white here, but this is not enforced), so I removed the reflectors and disconnected the parking light wire and connected it to the LED strip.

Disclaimer: standard disclaimer about doing at your own risk, may void your warranty, may not be street legal etc. ;)

I'm sorry for picture quality, because my DSLR was not on hand at the time of doing this, so I used my phone. Also I may not remember all details, because I'm writing this a month after the actual install.

Unfortunately I discovered that I have no "before" photo of my car.

The LED strip used:

These are the steps I did:

1. Remove all bulbs from the headlights

This is necessary because shaking the headlight may break the filaments inside the bulbs

2. Disconnect the harness connector

It is unlocked by pulling on the locking tab towards the back of the vehicle

3. Remove the headlights