General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

air tools

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2006, 08:56 PM
1st Gear
Default air tools

i've been playing with my cars a bit recently and i'm thinking about getting an air tool set. i've never used any of these before and i'm curious of their effectiveness. can these things really crank off all those rusty bolts? tell me how they've been to you. what they're capable of and your compressor setup.

~Dave

Old 12-29-2006, 10:38 PM
2nd Gear
Default RE: air tools

At home I have a 7 hp 60 gallon husky air comp. bought from home depot (a bit over kill unless you also paint or use sanders or air hammers with it). The higher the compacity in gallons the more force and less stain on the motor, you would need at least a 30 gallon tank. Buy a compressor based on the amount of cfm you plan on running (cfm rateings are usually on the boxes the tools come in). I have air guns, ratchets, air hammers, nail guns, staplers,sanders, and a paint gun, and even though I don't even use it but maybe once every 2 weeks shingle your house once without one and then do it with one and you will realize how much easier it makes life. At work (a dealership) I could not even imagine the amount of money I would lose doing everything by hand. Impact gums do break bolts lose that would break off heads of the bolts with hand tools due to the impacting action. Basically they make life easier and if you get GOOD ones they will eventually pay for themselves just in the cost of not having to replace broken bolts.

Old 12-30-2006, 02:52 AM
1st Gear

interesting, so you'd say that an impact will break less bolts than by hand... someone was telling me the reverse.

Old 12-30-2006, 04:23 PM
2nd Gear