General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

heater doesnt work

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2006, 01:07 PM
1st Gear
Default heater doesnt work

i just bought a 97 a4 2.8 a couple of days ago. this is my first audi to ever own so evrything is new to me maintenance wise. we ll i found out the other day that my heater doesnt work. no matter what setting i turn it on, it blows cold air. the fan works cause it changes speeds, and you can here valves in the dashboard move to direct the air, but its still always cold. the rear defrost and my water temp gauge doesnt work either. could they be connected somehow? any help would be great as i am new to audi's and have never worked on these kinds of motor's before. thanks

Old 01-06-2006, 04:58 PM
Default RE: heater doesnt work

very dodgy mate, temp gauge doesn't work and only cold air "this sounds like an air lock/failed thermostat/head gasket" air lock is the first to check out, heated rear window could be a fuse

Old 01-06-2006, 06:40 PM
1st Gear

ok what exactly is an air lock??? i checked all the fuses and they are all good....rear defrost included. but i am totally confused. i'm a pretty good mechanic but i have never touched a motor anything like this. its like trying to read japanese for me. so any more details would be great. where is the thermostat housing located so i can check out the thermostat?

Old 01-06-2006, 07:00 PM

an air lock is caused by filling the coolant and not bleeding the system, thermostat follow the radiator top hose to the engine which leads to the thermostat housing

Old 01-06-2006, 07:04 PM

to confirm an air lock you will find the top hose stays cold which is probably why the temp gauge in the dash isn't working because the radiator is cold at the top

http://images.google.com/imgres?imgu...005-44,GGLG:en

Old 01-06-2006, 11:40 PM
1st Gear