General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Transmission Fluid Change

Search this Thread

Old 05-12-2015, 08:43 PM
1st Gear
Default Transmission Fluid Change

I was at the dealer today asking about a trans fluid change on my 2013 A5 with 8 speed automatic. They tell me it is a sealed unit with no recommended service. I have looked at the trans and I see a drain plug and what appears to be a fill plug on the side. I am new to Audi, but no transmission maintenance sounds like a recipe for needing a new trans at around 100K miles. What is the general consensus out there regarding fluid changes?

Thanks

Old 05-21-2015, 03:43 AM
1st Gear

I agree. 'Sealed for life' should be in the manual as 'Sealed for death'. I've only just joined because I bought a 2003 Allroad, but from other knowledge, be careful about the 'refill' plug. On the Volvo's & Jag's there is a what looks like a refill plug, but is in fact a locator bolt for third cog. If you undo it, the box has to be pulled & stripped to refit it. And there are plenty of workshops have made that mistake. Buy a service manual, and make sure that it is identified so that if the shop makes the mistake, they get to fix it for you. There is a way to do a DIY change on the fluid which I have read, and I'm sure that someone on the Forum will be able to point to a better way, but here is the article I found, which may help. Sorry about the Volvo reference, but my last car was a Volvo.