General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

What oil viscosity?

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2005, 01:48 PM
1st Gear
Default What oil viscosity?

What oil viscosity and what brand are you guys using on 2.7T engines? The owners manual says 0w30-5w30-or5w40, but has to meet acea a2 or acea a3 standards. I know to use the factory filters but am confused about what weight.

Thanks
Andy

Old 03-10-2005, 04:14 PM
3rd Gear
Default RE: What oil viscosity?

This has been debated over and over here on AF and other sites.
Check the archives for the history of these debates.

The bottom line: You can't go wrong with 5-30.

The rest is up to opinion (other peoples experience with different grades).

Just make sure you use all synthetic oil - no blends.

Old 03-10-2005, 06:30 PM
1st Gear

I've argued with many people over this subject also. I have no input on it because I'm new to the Audi World.

Just wondering why you don't suggest blends?

Thanks

Old 03-10-2005, 07:09 PM
4th Gear

Blends do not meet ACEA A3 or A5. Oils that meet these standards are for extended use in high performance engines.

Old 03-10-2005, 08:52 PM
1st Gear

I see.

And all this time I thought it was the best of both worlds.

I just don't like using the full syn. because of the leak factor. I hate a messy engine.

Old 03-10-2005, 09:52 PM
3rd Gear

What leak factor? There shouldn't be any leaking.

Old 03-10-2005, 10:51 PM
1st Gear

This is from what I heard, whether it be true or not.

If you switch to full syn. oil in a car that has never run it before, the syn. oil is so slick it will find all the weak spots in the gaskets and slip through them and leak. Even non weak gaskets are vulnerable. I also heard that older engines tend to burn more oil when switched to full syn. oil. How true all this is, I don't know.

What do you think?

Old 03-11-2005, 11:40 AM
4th Gear