General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Where to start about my a4

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2016, 01:26 AM
1st Gear
Default Where to start about my a4

Well I'm new to forum. However I'm a very experienced mechanic. This car has me so damn frustrated that I want to off it but at same time has my heart. Just bout this car a few months back. So far I've did a turbo swap for another basic k03 and took out stock airborne and did a pod filter. Well the car would only push 3psi Max. So I hooked up a turbosmart dual stage boost controller and bypassed the ecs tuning brown n75 unit however I left it plugged in the intake line and still plugged in to harness. Replaced spark plugs for autolite coppers gapped at .30, Boom she hits 8psi all day long. So I decided to get a forge 007 dv and run it as a bov/rv at 20 clicks. Well new issue is when I'm in 5th at 65 and floor it I'll hit 5psi but as soon as it gets to 6-7psi the motor bucks like its under extreme load. If I downshift to 4th and floor it then it won't buck and hits 8psi and pulls strong. What is causing the bucking when I'm in 5th or in town at 35 in 3rd and same thing but if I drop to 2nd 8psi and strong?

Old 04-25-2016, 08:35 AM
2nd Gear

Sounds like some detonation going on. Adding PSI could do that. I don't have a lot of experience with turbo engines but I do know a little about supercharged engines (belt driving blower types) so the concepts are the same. Engine compression ratios have to be set up to handle certain boost PSI ranges. Depending on the stock compression ratio on your engine, increasing the boost on the turbo might be causing premature ignition of the fuel air mix (detonation). Add in the factor of the turbo heating up the air before it gets to the intake and detonation is even more likely.