Nitrous, Super Chargers, & Turbos All charged talk about going, and going FAST!

With the lack of N20 love here...

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2006, 10:10 PM
Administrator
Default With the lack of N20 love here...

...seems like most people here are against the idea of spraying the A4, whether it's a "purity" reason ("real cars don't use nitrous") or something else, have any of you 1.8T guys tried just running a nitrous spray system for your intercooler? I think most of us know that it can be very effective, but I haven't seen discussion or pics of anyone's car here using such a setup.

I know that I'm a noob, and I draw most of my mechanical knowledge from what I've done in my "past life" as a 300Z owner, so forgive me for that, but I've seen some scary power gains there with using such a system. For example (and granted this is a heavily worked example), a guy named Sean Wagner ran that type of setup (along with a wet 60 shot) into his twin-TD05-18G car. Running the car only on boost on the dyno, at 24psi, he hit a number in the neighborhood of 580whp. His next pass on the dyno, running only 20psi, and spraying a 60 shot in the motor and fogging the FMIC, netted 744whp. He gained 164whp in the process. Yes, 60hp of N20 was sprayed into the engine, but that's still 104whp on top of that, made with 4psi LESS boost and an IC spray.

Is there any reason why people don't seem to be using such setups on the 1.8T cars? Or are you, and I'm just a tard that didn't see it in your cars? I'm asking because I'm bored, I'm curious, and I like to get discussions going on topics I haven't seen discussed in awhile. Any info or feedback is welcome.

Old 12-12-2006, 10:19 PM
Administrator
Default For fun, here's a link to the 744whp pass...

Go here:

http://www.streetneeds.com/download....ocars/&thumbp=

second from the bottom, middle column (wagz744.mpg is the file).

Old 12-12-2006, 11:02 PM
Default RE: For fun, here's a link to the 744whp pass...