Off Topic A place for you car junkies to boldly post off topic. Almost anything goes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Anyone here a watch connoisseur?

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2008, 07:43 AM
Administrator
Default Anyone here a watch connoisseur?

I know that in the past there have been some interesting threads about martial arts, guns, etc. Anyone here a watch lover? What are you wearing?

I wear a Fossil Arkitekt as a daily watch (nice looking watch for little money - I think it was $120 or so). I have a pair of Movados as well - one original anthracite museum watch (very thin, satin black, with the segmented band, bought in 92), and a silver Esperanza with a black face, bought in 95 or 96. Those are for nice occasions out. I have one very valuable watch in my safe deposit box at the bank - a Patek Philippe from the late 40s that was a gift from my uncle when I graduated high school. That one hasn't come out more than four times since 93 when I got it (I wore it to the funerals of both that uncle and his wife, and to my graduations from college) - I'm scared to death to wear it, in the event that I lost it, banged it against something and damaged it, etc.

My next one will be the Movado Valor round-face - I love that one, and it's somewhat affordable (I know I'm talking in relative terms here) at about $1300. I'm a big Movado fan anyhow, and I think that among genuinely classy and "respected" watch companies, such as them, Tag, etc, they make the nicest ones. They have some that are truly out of reach in price, but they have a lot of watches that, while expensive, are still attainable. I would like a Tag chronograph of some sort, but that'll be after the Valor.

Am I the only AFer that is into watches? Anyone else out there into them too? What kinds are you wearing or buying?

Old 04-26-2008, 09:57 AM
1st Gear
Default RE: Anyone here a watch connoisseur?