S Car Model Line Audi S4, Audi S6, and Audi S8..Audi's track-ready touch on each of the popular sedans

Cylinder head oil leak

Search this Thread

Old 07-27-2007, 07:47 PM
Default Cylinder head oil leak

I've been visiting this site often and have learned lots of valuable, much appreciated info. I am not a expert by any means regarding engines and car mechanics, but I do enjoy them. Here's my recent dilema;

On Wednesday I took my '01 S4 in for a timing belt replacement(71K miles). Pulling out of the garage I notice a substantial amount (18" diameter circle) of liquid on the floor. It was oil. I checked the oil level and it was a little lower than the previous night when I checked itwhen fueling up. So I asked the service shop to look into the problem.

They told me that my cylinder head bearings were the cause of the problem. To fix it would be $3900, including timing belt(the entire job including tensioner, roller, etc)and valve cover gasket. I went to the shop to see the problem. There was quite a bit of oil on the front of the engine. Funny thing is, the plastic guard/trap on the bottom of the car was dry with not a sign of any oil, dirt, or any other substance. They said it was like that when they took it off. I find it hard to believe the oil could leak from the front of my car and get past that plastic thing without touching it.

Am I getting hosed? Are the cylinder heads prone to oil leaking problems? Would it cause that much oil leakage onto the floor of my garage?

I am going to get it fixed and try to sell. Seems like these cars have too many problems.

Old 07-27-2007, 07:57 PM
SoCal Crew Member
Default RE: Cylinder head oil leak

[sm=bs.gif]...... did you ever have an oil leak problem before the timing belt was changed? if not this is something the shop shoulddefinetly be responsible for.

cylinder head bearings? what bearings exactly? how much was the timing belt r/r?

Old 07-27-2007, 08:33 PM
2nd Gear