Wheels and Tires Post up threads with questions about wheels and tires for your Audi here

Product availability

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-2011, 09:34 PM
Senior Administrator
Default Product availability

Miles, Good to have you 'round (gettit? tires... round... I'm so phunnie!) my Mang!

So, I have a preferred brand of tire I've been rolling on, for about the last 15 years, almost... Falken's. Started using them back when I was stationed in Europe. LOVE their grip! Double-LOVE their breakaway characteristic, when pushed beyond their limits! Triple-LOVE their afford-ability. Hate their durability, but, that may be more a function of how I happen to know, intimately, their breakaway characteristic than anything else. I also hate how hard it is to find my next set (because I <3 AWD I always replace my tires in sets of 4).

I don't suppose Tire Rack is a vendor of Falken tires, are they? I've had to run them a lot longer than I was comfortable with, a time or two, due to lack of availability here in the Metro D.C. area.

Also, I have been thinking of trying Vredestein's on for drivability... What can you tell me about them (given my preferred gummi of choice, how they grip/handle/breakaway/roadnoise/etc. in comparison to Falken's would be helpful)? I've got some tire or another on my Scooby-Doo Legacy, now (wrecked the A8, showing off - non tire related); whatever it came with. And, I figure I could afford to spend a set of Vredesteins (I kinda like theor tread-pattern, actually) on the Scooby and see how they do before I drop coin on another A8 (hopefully later on, this year, but it's too early to say, for sure), and pony up for a set of Vredesteins in 19"ers (haven't picked a wheel yet, either, but, it'll be 19"-summers and 17"-winters-All Season's FTW).

So... Talk to me, my Mang!!!

Old 02-16-2011, 12:02 PM