Do It Yourself Timing Belt Change?

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2005, 11:38 AM
Default Do It Yourself Timing Belt Change?

I have recently purchased a 94' 90S Quattro that appears to be in need of a timing belt change and water pump (cannot verify last time it was done).

I am a pretty decent home mechanic, and am wondering if it's worth the time, effort, and extra tools required to do it myself over the roughly $1000-$1200 quotes I'm getting from various shops?

Also there does not appear to be any good after market manuals on this model. Is Alldata.com worth it or should I just cave for the CD's?

Old 08-20-2005, 01:37 PM
2nd Gear
Default RE: Do It Yourself Timing Belt Change?

I don't think most of us here know what is in your car. I sure don't. I would say it is totally worth doing it on the V6, but I am guessing you are the 4 cyl but who knows maybe you're the v8. I guess I could (and others) advise you a little better if you give us a lot of engine spec on your car. It is probably worth it to do it yourself though. From what I can tell people are getting ripped off for timing changes. There are a few key tips for all timing belt changes to keep in mind, like not turning anything when you take the belt off, getting the exact number of teeth between each gear as it was previously, and (highly reccommended) marking where things came from incase anything goes wrong. You car is a little older so it will probably be easier, (like marks for top dead center so you can line up). ANyway, sorry I don't know your car model that well but I would guess it is similar to something I have worked on.

Old 08-20-2005, 01:58 PM

Sorry, it has the V6 engine, however many valves normal for the 94' model

Old 08-20-2005, 03:00 PM
2nd Gear