Audi A3 The Audi A3 offers cutting edge engineering, performance, and luxury in one affordable package.

2011 Audi a3 engine failure

Old 11-09-2012, 10:55 AM
1st Gear
Default 2011 Audi a3 engine failure

Just yesterday my 11 month old Audi A3 suddenly began shuddering and misfireing while in a slow moving line of traffic. Then a glance in my rear view mirror showed plumes of white coming out the back then total loss of power. It ended up on a flat bed and is now with the dealer. This really looks catastrophic. Am I the only one who has had this experience and what am I looking at?

Robert

Old 11-09-2012, 02:07 PM
1st Gear

You are looking a German engineering at its best. Seriously, looks like either the turbo is sick or a head gasket let go.

Old 11-09-2012, 03:12 PM
1st Gear

This is my first time here. I was going to look around for clues on how reliable Audis are (From the owners themselves). But this post caught my attention right away.

I'm coming from Acura. I've had minor fixes, never related to the engine or trans. How bad is the reliability difference if I buy new?

Old 11-09-2012, 06:19 PM
1st Gear

After owning Vw first and now onto Audi, Among other cars prior. My experience has shown me any vehicle will be as good as the Maintenance... The better you stay on top of it the longer your car will last. We have had an old dodge cummins at 850k and still going, my Gti was at 230k when I sold it. Now my Audi is at 25k.

As far as how bad is the reliability if you buy new? Versus what?

To the OP what is the history on your first 11k? Regardless it is ridiculous to have blown a head gasket or turbo this early. But first things that come to mind, premium fuel? Full synthetic oil? Oil Change interval? Did you properly break in the engine?

Old 11-10-2012, 01:09 PM
1st Gear