Audi A3 The Audi A3 offers cutting edge engineering, performance, and luxury in one affordable package.

Best bike rack for A3 w/o Roof Rails...

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2006, 10:04 PM
1st Gear
Default Best bike rack for A3 w/o Roof Rails...

Looking to get a bike rack for my A3.

I'm considering the Saris Bones model that goes on the hatch...anyone had any experience with this?

Not a big fan of the roof rack...I'm a little height disadvantaged...but if it's better, I'll probably end up with one.

Old 11-18-2006, 10:13 PM
2nd Gear
Default RE: Best bike rack for A3 w/o Roof Rails...

I only have experience in the roof rack version. Thule or Yakima. Yakima is made in the USA.
search old threads on this forum and you'll find some info that i used when i was on the market for one.

Old 11-19-2006, 12:41 PM
1st Gear

I have had no experience with this company, but if it fits the GTI is should fit the A3. You'd have to talk to the company to find out for sure. From TT land there were some that used these.

Bike Racks

Old 11-19-2006, 04:00 PM
1st Gear

Thanks. I'll search the forums...

Old 11-20-2006, 04:23 AM
T2T
1st Gear

I tried the Bones hatch rack and the brackets that hook over the hatch where too thick and wouldn't fit into the crack between the hatch and the body. I took it back and bought the Thule roof rack. It works fine and doesnt' damage the paint as long as you clean the mounting area before you mount them.

[IMG]local://upfiles/17602/4E99AD36EF3443C8837069DACC76FD05.jpg[/IMG]

Old 11-20-2006, 06:31 AM
1st Gear

As an owner of three previous cars with roof racks, I'm a strong advocate of a trailer hitch or hatch/trunk mounted rack for bicycles.

I felt they always scratched the roof in the long run. They interfered with gas mileage and performance. On long drives the bikes were coated with bugs. Once I even drove into the garage with my bikes on the roof. And I thought I NEVER do that! Turns out I now have lots of biking friends with the same story.