Audi A3 The Audi A3 offers cutting edge engineering, performance, and luxury in one affordable package.

INTAKE info and Preferences...

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-2007, 04:22 PM
1st Gear
Default INTAKE info and Preferences...

I'm fairly new at this MOD stuff. Haven't owned a decent European Auto before to finley tune.
Anyhoo...
Looking at Intakes, first thought was the K&N intake. Any takers here?
Next, what is the concencus here on CAI, from who (neuspeed, carbino...etc.) And Am I going to be wasting money money on the K&N intake. Whos the best?

I know some of you guys hate getting Newb quesitons like this...but I have looked at all the forums and yet to see a definite winner/loser/waste of money! So your input is much apprectiated guys!

Old 02-28-2007, 04:46 PM
1st Gear
Default RE: INTAKE info and Preferences...

with most cars, intakes are all the same. you have your cold air variety with the filter hidden down in the bumper area, or the short ram type that has the filter in the engine bay itself. The carbonio is more of a stock replacement with good carbon fiber looks and a high flow filter, but not performance benefit. If you are looking for power, forget the intake for now and go for a chip. It will by far make the largest difference of anything you can do to the car. APR or Revo are the favorites around here.

Old 02-28-2007, 04:52 PM
1st Gear

Thanks for the quick response...I figured the Chip is the best option...

Chips is#1, I was thinking exhaust and CAI as #2...

How much power am I looking at for a CAI or just a regular intake?

Old 02-28-2007, 05:08 PM
1st Gear

ORIGINAL: ryandlor
How much power am I looking at for a CAI or just a regular intake?
Next to nothing despite what the manufacturers tell you. However, better breathing is always good and you may feel some benefit at the top end of the rev range.