Audi A3 The Audi A3 offers cutting edge engineering, performance, and luxury in one affordable package.

Ughh Bad dayy

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2007, 05:21 PM
1st Gear
Default Ughh Bad dayy

Heyeveryone

Im a collcege student from boston living in tampa. I wased my car today for the first time since thanksgiving. I had a few bugs onthe hood of my car so i purchased some turtle wax and ihad a little blemish on the hood above my headlight so i grabbed some rubbing compound to try and rub it out. after i did the bug wash irinsed the car and then used the rubbing compound on hte affected area. after the car completely dried the entire area (where most of the bugs were) looked faddedalmsot like when you wax the car but havent buffed the wax out. I panicked and re washed the car hoping i jsut ahd some residue left over but afer it was dry i could still see the clowdy looking paint!! what did i doo how can i fix it! please help

07 Audi a3 2.0t
lava grey

Old 12-13-2007, 05:55 PM
1st Gear
Default RE: Ughh Bad dayy

Did you wax it after using the rubbing compound? That sounds like what you need to do.

Old 12-13-2007, 06:11 PM
1st Gear

No i havent waxed it yet....It sucks being at school i ahve zero resources available.. The best i can do is one of my buddies has a house with a hose and car wash stuff. Id love to just send it in to get detailed but i fly home for christmas tomorrow kinda sucks my cars guana be stuck lookin like this all break...HaHa any one wanna take it and and fix her up for me???? anyone....

Old 12-13-2007, 06:52 PM
1st Gear

It's a simple fix. Wax the hood with the Turtle Wax that you already have or get a nice bottle of Mother's or McGuire's Wax. Or if you're on a budget, Eagle Black Magic liquid wax works well. The rubbing compound basically causes light scratching on the clearcoat to remove tree sap and oxidation from bugs and bird crap. It's the clearcoat that caused the hazing on your hood. Putting wax back on should bring the shine back.