Audi A4 The Audi A4 model offers nimble handling and performance that makes it one of the leading cars in its class. Read more about the Audi A4 in the Audi A4 review.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

governor

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2006, 02:08 PM
1st Gear
Default governor

I am new to the audi game. I have a 97 A4 2.8Q and I was wondering would I need a piggyback in order to increase my top speed or what would I need?

Old 04-28-2006, 02:20 PM
3rd Gear
Default RE: governor

Reprogram the ecm. You can also try unplugging you vehicle speed sensor. That works on some cars. Not sure about the audis. I wouldnt recommend that method with an automatic trans thou. The vss is an important input for trans operation.

Old 04-28-2006, 02:26 PM
1st Gear

I don't have an auto I would never get one. I got the 5 speed stick. I believe my friend unplugged his speed sensor and it worked for him but I would actually like to know how fast I am going because I already get enough speeding tickets.

Old 04-28-2006, 03:52 PM
2nd Gear

Ok how often are you going above what the govenor limits you to? How old are you? Have you even taken you car up to the speed where the govenor kicks in?

Old 04-28-2006, 03:58 PM
1st Gear

Well right now I am not going above what the govenor limits me because it's limited at 130mph. If you were asking how often I am going to be going above that speed then the answer will be whenever I am racing and/or when I am on my long trips. Yes I have taken it up to that speed many times and I am just about 21.

Old 04-28-2006, 04:01 PM

Attention, Kitpower is not to confuse with Chip tuning whose principle is based on the modification of the program in the calculator of origin of your car (replacement of the chip of origin by a chip with an optimized program! (thus an often irreversible intevention on the equipment of origin of the car!)

Characteristic: