Audi A4 The Audi A4 model offers nimble handling and performance that makes it one of the leading cars in its class. Read more about the Audi A4 in the Audi A4 review.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

oil filter problems!?!?!?!?!?

Search this Thread

Old 10-28-2006, 09:22 PM
1st Gear
Default oil filter problems!?!?!?!?!?

hey guys, i was changing my oil today and i noticed by the oil filter housing unit that there was crusted-up coolant around the coolant tlines that go into this unit. what could be the problem?? how do i know if i need a new oil cooler or something like that becasue i just flushed my coolant and it already is a bit cloudy in color and i think oil may be leaking in it. i know this may sound stupid, i am not a mechanic obviously, but thanks for any suggestions.

Old 10-28-2006, 09:26 PM
Default RE: oil filter problems!?!?!?!?!?

If oil is leaking into your coolant than I would look into a possible blown head gasket.

Old 10-28-2006, 09:48 PM
Site Moderator

Replace the oil cooler before the head gasket. Especially if you have reason to believe its leaking.

Old 10-28-2006, 09:59 PM
1st Gear

it hasnt leaked yet but i noticed all the crusted coolant surrounding the coolant lines going into the oil cooler, so it may be on its way to start leaking. i found a cooler for about $60, how hard are they to replace??

Old 10-28-2006, 10:06 PM
Site Moderator

Probably not hard, but i have some crusted coolant on the lines out of the oil cooler as well, but i dont have clouded coolant or coolant mixed with oil or anything like that.

Old 10-28-2006, 10:38 PM
1st Gear

if the coolant is kinda cloudy, can the oil cooler be the cause?

Old 10-29-2006, 12:40 AM
4th Gear

What did you flush the coolant with and what did you fill it with.