Audi A5 This sleek mid-sized A5 coupe offers performance with a roomy interior.

A5 Automatic Transmission Problem

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2011, 04:26 PM
1st Gear
Default A5 Automatic Transmission Problem

Hi,

I'm new to the Audi Forums and unfortunately my first post is related to a problem I have with my almost new Audi. The car is a 2011 A5 w/ premium plus package.

My problem is with the automatic transmission. When the car was around 500 miles the transmission started to be very “jumpy” while switching gears and this was mostly at low speeds (between 15 and 40 mph)

I took the car to Audi's service center and was told that the scanner didn't show any type of problems; in fact they told me they run the scanner twice.

In addition, I was advised by a friend to let the engine adapt to my driving style and that the problem may probably go away.

Today my A5 has around 2,500 miles and the problem not only continues but now I have a new issue: when I start the engine for the first time in the mornings I now hear a sporadic noise for a few seconds when I start driving.

Again the car has not shown any error messages and Audi Service keeps telling me that the car is fine.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Leon

Old 10-06-2011, 04:35 AM
1st Gear
Default Same old .....same old

In September 2007, I took possesion of a brand new Audi A5 coupe. Sortly afterwards it developed an intermittent fault. The drive engaged with a thud in both forward andd reverse gears and the car rolled back when I stopped on a hill.

I took the car back to the main Audi dealership. The put it htrough their diagnostics check and proclaimed their was no fault.

The problem increased in both frequency and severity to the point that when I returned for a second time, the engineer immediately admitted that it was a serious fault, although he was unable to explain it.