Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Auxiliary water pump

Old 12-06-2009, 11:52 PM
Default Auxiliary water pump

I took my '01 2.8 A6 Audi in to a local indy to see if they could tell me whether or not the the TB and water pump have been done. They couldn't, however there are no stickers indicating that it has but the belt doesn't look that bad or really old they said. However they did tell me that I have a leaky auxiliary water pump and that it's gonna be about $600 for that. And I have a worn tie rod, which is gonna be about $250 w/alignment. My question is, how big of a job is it to replace the aux pump? I'm a somewhat capable novice wrench. Also, are the tie-rods a pain on an Audi? Thanks in advance!

Old 12-07-2009, 04:13 PM

Its not a big job. You can do it yourself.
Tie rods are very easy. I would recomend replacing both tie rod ends. Since you will need alignment after that it will be cheaper in long run.

You can save around $500 if you do it yourself.

There are 2 pumps depending on your vin number.
So check here depending on one you need.

UP to VIN 3B-1-050,001 split is in the 2001 model year

From VIN 3B-1-050,001 split is in the 2001 model year

Here are upgraded Heavy Duty TRE
HD TRE

Last edited by kingofnyc22; 12-07-2009 at 04:19 PM.
Old 12-08-2009, 01:11 AM

Hey, thanks for the help! Would you happen to know of any good write ups on how to do either? I still need to track down a repair manual before I get into any projects.

Old 12-08-2009, 08:25 AM
2nd Gear

Is the worn tie rod end an INNER or OUTER? Outers are easy. Inners less so. Make sure you replace the right one otherwise you will be wasting your time and money.

Bob

Old 12-19-2009, 10:26 PM