Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

brakes locking up

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2007, 02:50 PM
1st Gear
Default brakes locking up

Hello all, I'm new to the audi game(1week).Here is my problem,when the car is cold no prob with the brakes,drive around for a while the brakes are holding all by themselves.I stop and look,the rotors are glowing red.I changed one of the front calipers, brakes and bled the front.Still have the same prob.I figured mastercylinder,just want to know what you guys thought,just want to have an idea B4 I took it to the shop.Oh,the brake and abs light comes on the goes of after a few minutes

Old 03-05-2007, 07:15 PM
3rd Gear
Default RE: brakes locking up

My guess would be a sticky caliper. Did you have this problem, then replaced the caliper and you still have the same problem?

Unless you are stopping hard a lot, and I mean a lot, they should not be getting red hot. The only thing that I can think of that causes a rotor to get red hot is a sticking caliper. I don't see how the master cylinder could have any influence on this particular problem. That is of course I understand correctly what is going on.

Jeff

Old 03-05-2007, 07:49 PM
1st Gear

are both red hot, or just one? if its just one, ride down the road and let go of the steering wheel. if your car pulls to one side, its most likely a sticky caliper

A couple things about what you said
1. You should normally never change just one caliper, you should always change them in pairs. Its a rule of thumb. You dont want the pressure to be different on both brakes.
2. Try changing the hoses, thats the only other thing I can think of

My jeep had "sticking" caliper problems, and these are the steps I have had to resort to so far. Im getting an Audi very soon

Old 03-05-2007, 09:18 PM
1st Gear