Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Delayed Upshifts

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2008, 04:22 AM
Default Delayed Upshifts

Hi guys. I'm a newbie in this forum and I must say that it has been very informative especially for a new audi owner like me. I recently bought a 2001 2.4L A6 with 70K kms mileage. The car is a beauty and really a joy to drive except when the shifting problem sets in. When I'm caught in heavy traffic for at least half an hour (in Manila, this is almost everyday), the transmission would seem to upshift too late. When there is bumber to bumper traffic and the speed would not exceed 30 kmh (about 20 mph) the transmission would only shift at more than 3K rpm. This is irritating not only because of wasted fuel but also because of the unnecessary engine noise caused by the high revs. In order to avoid this, I use the tiptronic mode to upshift earlier; but the problem returns once I return to automatic. Once the traffic clears up and the car has reached cruising speeds, the upshifts return to normal in a few kilometers. I brought this up to the first owner and he said that he already brought the car to the Audi dealership to look into this problem. The dealer just changed the ATF and said that this is just normal since the Audi transmission has a learning computer which adopts to the driving style or situation. Is this really normal in an Audi? I haven't brought the car to the dealership or any mechanic yet to have this checked. Thanks in advance for the advice.

Old 12-29-2008, 11:35 AM
2nd Gear

You have 4 cylinder Non-Quattro Audi, correct?

Tip is adaptive, that's correct.
I believe there is nothing to be done in the traffic, but use the manual mode (as I do - 2.7T).
A6 is a heavy car even non-quattro and the 2.4 engine is better off with manual transmission.

Old 12-29-2008, 11:00 PM