Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Driveline (Driveshaft?) replacement

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2010, 04:49 PM
1st Gear
Default Driveline (Driveshaft?) replacement

Hi everyone,

I have a 2002 2.7T (about 95k miles) that went in the shop the other day. I heard back today that the driveline (I believe that is the word he used) needs to be replaced to the tune of about $1700. He says he rarely see this problem and I am a bit skeptical. Has anyone had this problem before? I don't remember hearing or feeling any symptoms of a worn out driveline. Also, the a-arm bushings are bad, but the whole arm has to be replaced (actually all 4). I was quoted about $975, does this sound about right?

I have been enjoying the car for about two years now. I have the APR chip and piggie pipes, but these are some rather expensive, unexpected repairs that have me questioning how much longer I want to keep the vehicle.

Thanks in advance for any help or advice.

Old 12-29-2010, 05:45 PM
2nd Gear

Drive line to me means the entire power train. But trust me your not getting that done for $1700. maybe he means both sides, cv joints and axles????

The control arms cost around 600-1000 in parts so 975.00 doesn't make sense to me unless they plan to buy the cheapo's on e bay.

I would use quality control arms I think fibi / bilstein were the better control arms to get I bought Meyle and so far they work. But if I remember correctly the Febi's were better.

I would ask him to tell you exactly what he intends to replace and why. Then ask with what brand parts. Sounds like you have a vague description of what they intend to do.

If they are replacing the front CV joints and axles then the price for the control arms might be a little lower because they are somewhat removing them to begin with...don't know.

Old 12-29-2010, 09:33 PM
2nd Gear