Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

going to track in about a month what do I need to do?

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2008, 05:16 PM
1st Gear
Default going to track in about a month what do I need to do?

ok...I've never being to track before, so I know absolutely nothing about what to do, here is a few questions I can think of for now, btw my car is BONE stock (kinda funny to take a stock executive 4-door saloon to track)
1. I know there's something like pre-track inspection, do I really need that? cause it's my first time so I don't think I'm gonna go really really hard, and my car is stock.....

2. Since my car is BONE stock...I'm thinking maybe I should do some small upgrade...like..new and better brake pads, better brake fluid? New and harder springs? (I think that gonna go way over my budget) Don't know any upgrade thats kinda cheap....my budget will be..i guess 350ish maybe 400 max... including labour if necessary.

3. when we are on track, do we use the S mode or the TIP??? when we are on TIP, the throttle doesn't feel that direct compare to S mode so I'm not sure, and do we floor the car on straight or be more gentle..

4. well this question really don't have much to do with my track day..but here it is. What will happen if I have a APR 93 chip (which I don't) and use 91 fuel? like is it worst or better then the 91 program with 91 fuel...( bit more explanation please

5. what fuel should we use on track days? we have like 30 or so cars and gonna rent the track for a whole day, 91 or really high octane gas, I think higher the octane the more stress the engine take.. and again my car is BONE stock.

6. are we gonna lose alot if not all the tread on our tires after a day on track ( assuming not driving REALLY hard) and my tire is not just normal all-season I think, with 75%+ of tread left.