Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Hard Starting 2000 2.8 Avant

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-2010, 12:31 AM
1st Gear
Default Hard Starting 2000 2.8 Avant

Hey all,
Relative newbie here; I've used info here before on my a4 avant, but recently purchased a used 2000 A6 avant 2.8 and have some issues with the a6 and looking for some help. The A6 has about 130k miles, so has been around the block a few times. I have not been driving lately due to difficulty in starting, which has gotten much more difficult with the cold weather in upstate NY. When cold starting, starter engages fine and engine trys to turn over, but seems like lack of ignition or fuel to the plugs. After a few minutes of trying to start, engine starts to catch but stalls out. Keep trying to start and it finally holds an idle. If I give it any gas during intial idle, it sputters and then stalls. If it takes the gas when cold and rpm goes above 1000rpm, typically get backfires. After 5 minutes or so, the engine seems to run fine, but still have the same problem starting the following day. There was no CEL when the starting problems started, but the CEL popped up a few days ago. I ran a Vag diagnostic and it showed a misfire on cylinder 3. Cleared the code to see if it would re-appear or if it was a random misfire. Still had the same problems starting the cold engine, but got it started after a few minutes and it didn't trip another CEL. So, I am hoping for a little advice in diagnosing the problem before I have to take to a shop. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Hard starting was the problem before the CEL light came on, but the car has exhibited the same starting/running characteristics with or withouth the CEL on. Seems to run great once started, so I am hoping it is a minor fix.

Old 12-23-2010, 07:16 AM
2nd Gear