Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Hesitation in Acceleration from a Stop

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2009, 03:31 PM
1st Gear
Default Hesitation in Acceleration from a Stop

I am new to Audi and all wheel drive, in general. I am normally a GM girl, but made the big switch. I recently got a 2006 A6 3.2L quattro and have really enjoyed the car. I have noticed a few things, but did not know if they are normal for the car.

Sometimes, from a stop, the car hesitates, quite a bit, when the accelerator is pressed. I had thought that, since the car is quattro, that it would be super fun off the line, but it hesitates so much, sometimes, that i think i could get in a wreck if i tried to pull out quick.

I brought the issue up to the dealership, since the car is still in warranty. They gave me some story about how that particular transmission feels this way. I feel like I am getting the run around, being a female. I was thinking about going to another dealer for a second opinion.

Does anyone else have this problem or some insight?
Thanks!

Old 06-12-2009, 03:59 PM

from what you are saying, this seems to be a 1-1.5 second hesitation?

Your car does not have a turbo. Most "lag" issues involve turbo engines. It is NOT normal for your car to be doing this. I have an 01, so i cant speak greatly on the subject of a newer car, but I am leaning towards thinking your are getting the run around.

Old 06-12-2009, 04:07 PM
2nd Gear

I've read this lots .. and I guess it is how the car is meant to be maybe? I know the throttle is all electric, so there maybe could be some timed delay or something?

but you say it is only sometimes?

Old 06-12-2009, 04:21 PM
1st Gear

Yeah, I would say it is a 1-2 sec lag. She is naturally aspirated, so no turbo lag issues.......

And it only happens sometimes, i would say every 2 or 3 stop to go's.......