Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

how hard isa it to change timing belt

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2008, 03:07 PM
Default how hard isa it to change timing belt

exactly wat it say has any body done it themselves im a pretty good mechanic ive done alot of things this just scares me a lil its not yet time to do it but almost supposed to be done every 75k to 80k? thanx in advance

Old 11-14-2008, 03:26 PM
1st Gear

very hard to do. Have to remove the front end to gain access to it.

Old 11-14-2008, 05:12 PM

Originally Posted by madridlover
very hard to do. Have to remove the front end to gain access to it.
so i should pay a shop to do it

Old 11-14-2008, 05:15 PM
1st Gear
Smile Timing Belt

The difficulty depends upon how mechanically inclined you are and whether or not you have to tools and equipment needed for the job. There are some really informative technical articles on AudiWorld.com that give great explanations and really good pics to help you along. I'll include a link. Go to the site, click on resources and scroll down to tech articles...clicking on the engine option and then simply choose the article for your model. Hope this helps.

http://www.audiworld.com/

Old 11-14-2008, 05:36 PM
2nd Gear

basically same thing as TTC5, this is the actuall link, its bookmarked for me so Il put it up...
http://www.audiworld.com/tech/eng.html

Old 11-14-2008, 07:12 PM
1st Gear

I have a 2000 A6 2.8. I had to do mines about 1 month ago. I've worked on cars before and am pretty mechanically inclined, but I would not consider myself a mechanic.

I'd give it a 6-7 out of 10. I did alot of research and found a write up on it on one of these forums. I followed it and it wasn't a problem. There were a few differences though.

As far as removing the front end, once you start working on it, it's actually pretty easy to do. It's not that involved at all.