Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Just A Few Small Questions

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2011, 12:53 AM
1st Gear
Default Just A Few Small Questions

I recently purchased my first Audi on Monday, and it a 2004 2.7 A6. I noticed a few small things so far and just need some clarification. My instrument cluster says Service, but does not say what, while it is notifying me of low windshield wiper wash. Could that be the possible service issue? Also, I tried filling up the resevoir, and it filled up halfway and then it started poring out. And I don't mean a trickle I mean almost faucet like. Possibly a crack in the resevoir? There is also a high pitched whine that sounds almost electronic when the car is running. I am new to turbos and do not know all the sounds so it may be nothing. And last, is there any way I can tell if the timing belt, serpentine belt setup has been changed? Sorry, for all the noob questions.

Old 07-28-2011, 02:24 AM
2nd Gear

the "service" is just a reminder that general servicing is coming up. nothing serious can be erased at the dealership or through vag-com. it comes up when you hit a certain mileage.

the cracked reservoir is a common problem. you can get a new one here:
Audi C5 A6 Quattro 2.7T > Search > Coolant > ES#429412 Coolant Expansion Tank - 8D0121403M

can you tell where the whine is coming from under the hood? could be the serpentine going bad. check the serpentine and the timing belts for wear. how many miles are on the car?

.... it doesnt sound like a dentist drill, does it? if so check for leaking oil.

Old 07-28-2011, 07:29 AM
AudiForums WilkommenVagen Direktor

^^^^^
agreed