Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Noobie questions about a Audi A6 TT Quatro (V6 2.7L)

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2010, 07:12 PM
Default Thinking of buying a Audi A6 TT Quatro (V6 2.7L)

2001 Audi A6 2.7L (Twin Turbo, AWD)
I know very little on Audi's, however, I know how to repair cars. But, I am a full time student and am looking for a reliable 4 door. Dont have time to do repairs.
I live in Northern Cali and the other day I test drove a 2001 Audi A6 TT. The car was sweeeet.
The car was the AWD 4 door model (Audi C5 A6 saloon according to wikipedia)

Anyway, I'd like to know what are the common problems with Audi's at this mileage. Besides the timing belt, what else should I look to replace?

1.) Do the twin turbos last long? What should watch out for in the TT models?
2.) What other engines came in "Audi C5 A6 saloon"?
3.) Are these cars reliable?
4.) Seeing how the Audi is a German car, are these cars hard to work on?
5.) are parts hard to get or expensive compared to other cars?
6.) I see there is a 4cylinder version of this car. Is that also AWD?
7.) I see that from 1997 to 2004 they made a C5 generation? What exact generation is the Audi I was driving?

Last edited by Total_Package; 03-20-2010 at 07:42 PM.
Old 03-20-2010, 07:42 PM

So i just called AutoZone and they tell me that parts are hard to find and expensive for Audi's. Can anyone comfirm that?

Old 03-20-2010, 09:13 PM
2nd Gear

Well to begin, you said at this mileage and never actually posted it, that would help. The when you do the timing belt, you also do the water pump, it just makes more sense.

1) The turbos are iffy. Lots of people out there who treat their cars well, change oil regularly, and havent chipped have run well over 100 000. When you buy the 2.7tt its a time bomb. Its not if, but when.
2) There are 4 doors with 2.8 v6, 2.7tt, 4.2 v8, and I've read in europe they have a w12