Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

prolonging turbo life

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2010, 12:48 AM
1st Gear
Default prolonging turbo life

alright so i have a slightly higher mileage 2.7t that is right now completely stock and has 115000 miles on the stock turbos.

I am working a part time job right now while i attend school and also have those classes to pay for. so i don't have the money to spend on a turbo replacement or anything else expensive.

So i am wondering what tips all of you have for protecting my turbos and what will make them last a little longer. im not very hard on it in my daily driving i am a pretty passive driver. but what things can i do that will help also?

Like i hear piggy pipes help.

also what motor oil would any of you recommend for our cars?
I currently use the valvoline high mileage blend

Old 08-19-2010, 12:09 PM
1st Gear

Piggy Pipes work and so does going easy on the gas pedal. What I mean by go "easy" is not to try and be the Transporter around every corner and straight away... Forced induction is called "FORCED" for a reason. There is a lot going on in your engine without you gunning it all the time. If you simply drive normal, take care of your car, and change your oil on the regular, you should be fine.

Old 08-19-2010, 12:32 PM
2nd Gear

At 115,000 miles, I would not call your car "higher mileage". The turbos can last the life of the car with regular oil changes using quality oil, synthetic preferred, and regular air filter changes using quality paper filters. You have an A6, not a S4, so drive it accordingly and you will be fine.

As for your transmission, control arms, steering rack, tie rod ends, oil seals and etc., you might want to consider another car while you are in school.

Bob

Old 08-19-2010, 01:55 PM
1st Gear

i have been considering changing my transmission fluid. Is that recommended for the tiptronics?