Audi A6 The mid-sized Audi A6 model offers more room to the driver and passengers over the A4 line.

Sirius radio "Linking"

  #11  
Old 10-28-2013, 09:39 PM
FredDebros's Avatar
1st Gear
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 6
Default sirius fix?

folks, Sirius has a very nice customer support lady trying to help out with that malfunctioning

my aim software is 27.2.0 and the latest aim software is around 35 for the a6 3.2 wagon, so we will see if an upgrade helps!
 
  #12  
Old 02-11-2014, 01:19 PM
Zeke13's Avatar
1st Gear
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 9
Default Sirius "Linking" update

Have still not fixed this problem and here is what I have done to date;
1.) Had MMI checked and am running the most recent update.
2.) Bought aftermarket antenna to eliminate the shark fin as possible cause. No change.
3.) Finally bought replacement receiver off ebay and installed it. It worked flawlessly for 2 days and then the problem started happening again. I was so pumped when it was working. Thought I nailed it! No dice.
It just makes no sense to me that it will work perfectly for extended periods and switch to "Linking" mode 90% of the time beyond that. If anyone has isolated this problem, please let us know what we need to do. I want my Satellite radio!
Thanks,
 
  #13  
Old 05-28-2014, 01:16 AM
1st Gear
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5
Default Any more info?

Originally Posted by Zeke13 View Post
Have still not fixed this problem and here is what I have done to date;
1.) Had MMI checked and am running the most recent update.
2.) Bought aftermarket antenna to eliminate the shark fin as possible cause. No change.
3.) Finally bought replacement receiver off ebay and installed it. It worked flawlessly for 2 days and then the problem started happening again. I was so pumped when it was working. Thought I nailed it! No dice.
It just makes no sense to me that it will work perfectly for extended periods and switch to "Linking" mode 90% of the time beyond that. If anyone has isolated this problem, please let us know what we need to do. I want my Satellite radio!
Thanks,
Has there been any breakthroughs or conclusions drawn as to what is going on? Zeke, I have an 06 that is doing the same thing. I've tried steps 1 and 2 with no success also. Kind of a leery about buying a new receiver since you had limited success. Any updates are appreciated
 
  #14  
Old 05-28-2014, 07:56 AM
FredDebros's Avatar
1st Gear
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 6
Default follow up

bot used sirius module on ebay for 250 bux and bingo it works now. total cost with all the trials tests etc 1000 bux
bad

fred
 
  #15  
Old 05-28-2014, 01:22 PM
1st Gear
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5
Default Encouraging

Thanks for the update Fred. I'm starting my quest for a different receiver and you've given me hope! I'll post my results soon.
 
  #16  
Old 05-28-2014, 05:03 PM
Zeke13's Avatar
1st Gear
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 9
Default Problem Solved

I also replaced the Sirius receiver unit. It took 2 different ones to solve the problem, so I would be sure to get one that is tested and said to be working. If you go to the Audi parts dealer with your VIN #, they will tell you what radios will work in your car, Mine was a B (first generation), but a D and N would work as well.
 
  #17  
Old 06-15-2014, 12:06 AM
1st Gear
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5
Default Fixed

Thanks for the reply Zeke. I found one brand new on Ebay and mine also works perfectly now. Simple swap out. Works even with my garage door down. Thanks again all...
 
  #18  
Old 06-16-2014, 10:37 AM
deepee58's Avatar
1st Gear
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 6
Default

Hello,

How can I can upgrade my MMI so I can fix my XMSirus linking I have a 2005 A6 3.2? Where do I find the CD's and instructions
 
  #19  
Old 06-18-2014, 02:57 PM
Zeke13's Avatar
1st Gear
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 9
Default MMI Update info

I never updated mine because my vehicle was running the latest software. There is a guy on ebay who will send the discs to upgrade and offers customer service. The other option is the Audi dealer.
 
  #20  
Old 12-08-2016, 01:11 PM
1st Gear
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1
Default Hey Im having the sirius xm linking problem

Originally Posted by igorek_k View Post
I had same problem as you with my 06 A6 4.2 S-Line. I've just updated MMI to a newer version and it works flawlessly now. Let me know if you need the CD's and step by step instructions.
would you be able to tell me were or how I can get the CD to fix the problem
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Sirius radio "Linking"


Advertising
Featured Sponsors

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.