Audi A8 This full sized Audi A8 sedan offers interior luxury and spaciousness comparable to any car in the full sized luxury sedan class

A8 issue under hard acceleration

Old 09-10-2010, 02:05 PM
1st Gear
Default A8 issue under hard acceleration

Hey everyone,

Has anyone ever seen this behavior?

After a few seconds of accelerating the car hard (not full throttle) from a stop the red dashboard brake light starts to flash and beep intermittently and randomly for about 5 or 6 seconds then stops.

This is strange behavior. Someone suggested it was traction control, but that doesnt make sense.

Anyone have any clue why this is happening?

Old 09-10-2010, 02:17 PM
1st Gear

I'm no expert, but traction control might not be a totally senseless answer, the control works by applying brakes to any wheel that slips, thereby transferring drive to the opposite wheel. Might be worth looking into.

Old 09-10-2010, 02:35 PM
1st Gear

Originally Posted by Mongo18
I'm no expert, but traction control might not be a totally senseless answer, the control works by applying brakes to any wheel that slips, thereby transferring drive to the opposite wheel. Might be worth looking into.

It doesnt make sense for a couple of reasons:

- the light and beeping start about 5 seconds after the acceleration starts. Wouldnt it sense it right at the start when the torque load is highest?

- why would the car announce wheelspin with a beeping brake light?

- why would it keep flashing and beeping when I stop accelerating (the first time this happened I lifted off right away and it kept happening)

Old 09-10-2010, 02:41 PM
2nd Gear

Mongo has a good point...especially if there is a fault in the ESP. It can light up a brake warning, abs warning or ESP (traction) light.

Check your brake fluid level too...if low, acceleration will shift it enough to trip low warning.

What year/model car?

Describe light and exact location...