Audi A8 This full sized Audi A8 sedan offers interior luxury and spaciousness comparable to any car in the full sized luxury sedan class

A8 Quattro Engine Surge/Acceleration

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-2010, 04:49 PM
1st Gear
Default A8 Quattro Engine Surge/Acceleration

Hi..

I have been a long time Audi driver..family too. Now, we have a situation which was terrible and we are searching for answers.. I have a client who owns/operates a 2004 A8 .

She entered an enclosed parking lot. She drove straight into a space, slowed down and stopped. With her foot still on the brake, Just as she was going to shift into park, she heard a click and the car just TOOK OFF!
She said she tried the brake and did not good. Lifting foot off gas did nothing..She steered around trees and parked cars and struck a wall.
She recalled every detail perfectly and still does. (the path is still evident on the lawn) She drives often. She has no accidents which were her fault. The insurer, at our insistence is having an inspection. I mentioned the computer adn the interlock too to them.

Does anyone have any knowledge of A8 or 2004 model defects or similar instances? Any recalls? Any reports? (our family once had a similarly defective 5000 back in the 80's) This person, who seems always and even now, so steady and objective is convinced there was no human error.. THANK YOu everybody..

Old 09-23-2010, 05:23 PM
Site Moderator

Very unlikely, the only way that could have happened is mechanical error.

Example: hit wrong pedal, carpet pad shifted and stuck the accellerator down etc.