Audi A8 This full sized Audi A8 sedan offers interior luxury and spaciousness comparable to any car in the full sized luxury sedan class

Newbie needs help!

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2009, 07:53 PM
Default Newbie needs help!

Hi!

A couple days ago, I've purchased a 2001 A8. The car has 91k miles on it and looks and drives good (compared with a Toyota Avalon and Mercedes ML430). The lady who sold me the car did not have any service records regarding a recent timing belt/water pump change and her dad -who originally owned the car- passed away some time ago. So, is there a way to understand whether or not they have been changed by looking at a sticker inside the engine? If not, what would be my best course of action?

Also, I've got an estimate of $350 for rear brakes (pad+rotors, including labor). Since I am fairly new to Audi, is this a good price or should I look for another Audi mechanic? I live in Maine and welcome any suggestions.

Thanks a lot!

Old 11-20-2009, 11:18 AM
1st Gear

Go down to the nearest Audi Dealer and have them pull a record sheet off of the vin number. If the old owner did it through the dealer they will have records.

As for the rear brakes; I have not had mine done so if anyone has a suggestion on this?

Old 11-24-2009, 08:12 AM
1st Gear

I've always done my own brakes, but $350 doesn't sound like a bad price for parts and labor. I'd guess at least 200 of that is just parts.

Old 11-29-2009, 07:40 PM
Senior Administrator

You could DIY your brakes and save about $100+. Or, if $$ isn't a concern, this is about normal for a Stealarship quote. Inde shop'll come in $50. - $75. less, give or take.

Old 11-30-2009, 10:33 AM
Site Moderator

Originally Posted by J.C.
Go down to the nearest Audi Dealer and have them pull a record sheet off of the vin number. If the old owner did it through the dealer they will have records.

As for the rear brakes; I have not had mine done so if anyone has a suggestion on this?