Audi Q5 The Audi Q5, aerodynamics have never looked so good.

Audi Q5 rear window spontaneously exploded...?

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2015, 05:29 PM
1st Gear
Default Audi Q5 rear window spontaneously exploded...?

Story: Last night I heard a sudden boom and then breaking glass, so I looked around confused wondering if I had somehow been rear ended without feeling any impact. I immediately pulled over; there is not a single scratch on the entire vehicle apart from my now shattered rear window. The bottom right corner had a large hole and, within the shattered glass remaining, there are some sections around the hole that appear to have bowed outwards. Some of the glass fell outside, then more fell inwards as I drove home. As a Canadian driver, I am quite familiar with the sound of rocks hitting the glass or body of my car. I did not hear ANYTHING prior to the loud BOOM and subsequent shattering of glass.

Detailed Conditions: There were 3 lanes and, at the time of the incident, I was in the furthest right lane in slow/stop & go traffic (up to ~40 kmphr at most both directions) during a snowy evening around 6:00pm in Calgary, Alberta. Temperature was about -12C, there was light snow falling, and I had used the rear defrost + rear wiper periodically during my 20-30 min drive out of downtown. I was not on or near any highways during this particular trip prior to the glass exploding.