B5 Models Please discuss all 1996 - 2001 B5 A4 topics here...

I need A4 Purchasing advice

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2011, 12:06 AM
1st Gear
Default I need A4 Purchasing advice

Until recently I have always been a general motors guy. And before any of you laugh, lets just say I was raised by a GM mechanic and i've spent enough time and money fixing and rebuilding gm products that I was just fed up. I knew I was going foreign, but i decided german was my best bet after some long research. Either way I have found a 1997 A4 FWD with the 1.8L turbo. It has 100k miles on it. I was just looking for some opinions on this certain vehicle and anything I should know. I am a mechanic by hobby so most repairs are not an issue. I am looking for a gas saving, reliable, and safe vehicle to use as a daily driver instead of my truck. Any info would be helpful. Thanks!

Old 02-24-2011, 12:19 AM
2nd Gear

Where are you from? If you get a lot of snow in the winter and plan on driving the Audi, get quattro awd. It can literally save your life. If you are more south and don't really get snow, go for it. Just know audi's are high maitenance and plan on spending a lot of money keeping this car running well. If the timing belt hasn't been changed yet, get it done. I'm pretty sure it's recommended 80k miles that it's supposed to be swapped. Run it on premium 91 octane. Don't trust dealerships when you have to get something repaired. They'll charge you an arm and a leg and might not even get the job done. Just browse through the forums and check out some threads about repair. It will let you know what your are in for. Don't get me wrong, they are great vehicles, they are just money ******.

Old 02-24-2011, 12:21 AM
4th Gear

Hold out for QUATTRO, you won't regret it, but you will regret the FWD sooner than you think...