B7 Models Please discuss all 2005.5 - 2008 B7 A4 topics here...

Timing Belt and Water Pump

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2012, 07:32 PM
1st Gear
Default Timing Belt and Water Pump

So its come time to replace my timing belt and water pump. Last time I was in for an oil change the dealership quoted $1700.00 to get the job done. I went on my good ol' faithful ECS Tuning and found their Ultimate Timing Belt kit (Audi B7 A4 Quattro 2.0T > Search > Timing Belt > ES#1876844 Timing Belt Kit - Ultimate - 06F198001B7) for $250. I think this is a job I can save some money on. (Side note: I only took my car in for oil change because my mom got me a gift card at the Audi dealership for my birthday otherwise I do it myself)

Now I'm no mechanic, but I like to think I'm pretty mechanically inclined. I've been planning on doing this job in the next month when I can get it into my dad's garage (he has far more tools than I do) and reading about what needs to be done and as many How To's that I can find.

I guess I'm a little worried that I might be missing something. Seems pretty straight forward but I would hate to get in there and realize I'm *** backwards on what I'm doing.

One thing I'm kind of spooked about is dealing with the AC system. Any thoughts on discharging and recharging an AC system?

Is there anything anyone would recommend me taking a second look at or anything that could catch me off guard before I tear my car apart?

Thanks
-Jago

Old 05-07-2012, 09:18 AM
2nd Gear

Do you have to discharge the AC? My understanding (from reading just like you) is that the process is pretty easy as with the front removed it make it pretty easy to get to everything.

Old 05-07-2012, 10:46 AM
1st Gear