B8 Models Please discuss all 2009+ B8 A4 topics here...

Battery Troubles. Someone Help!!

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-2015, 08:48 PM
1st Gear
Default Battery Troubles. Someone Help!!

Hello all. I'M New here but i've been reading here for a long time. I've scoured the internet looking for concrete evidence that audi is either correct in their tales or just trying to make a buck. or say $195 bucks. Basically here is the deal. I need a new battery. Audi charges $143 for the battery and $195 to put it in. They claim that the computer needs to be flashed/coded to accept the battery or the car wont accept the battery and it will act up and throw codes. Now, im a pretty competent mechanic and i've owned lots of Volkswagens/Audis ranging from a MK3 GTI VR6 which i tore the engine down to its bearings and completely rebuilt it from the ground up, to a nice RS6. Now i understand that you need to run jumper wires to another battery so the car has constant power while you install a new battery, and i've read that the computer might need flashed through vcds(dont have a VAG-COM), but i've talked to a few battery places and they all say that they don't flash the computer and the customers don't have any problems. Does anyone know for certain whether i HAVE to recode the computer through VCDS or if its just a way for AUDI to make another $195 off of me? I'm really hoping that SOMEONE knows the answer to this. I currently have my XS power cell in the trunk just so i can start my car

Old 10-22-2015, 11:19 AM
2nd Gear

Yes newer cars do require battery coding to the computer when you swap it out. The reason for it is very simple - charging intervals.
A new battery requires different amount of charging then older ones. Newer Audi's have some kind of adjustable charging system that according to the battery age will charge the battery differently.