Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification. let's hear about it here.

In-Dash DVD install question

Search this Thread

Old 09-28-2006, 12:16 AM
Default In-Dash DVD install question

I have recently purchased a 2000 Audi A6 2.7T Quattro, and im new to Audi. I have the Bose Symphony Factory stuff and its alright for most but WEAK for me. I have never had a DVD in dash installed in any vehicle i've owned but am looking to step-up to one soon. I have installed regular cd receivers and such (in American rides), but as i learned by hooking up my 1600 watt amp and two 12 in a box to the bose system, AUDI has a way of making things difficult (at least for me) to modify. I called up crutchfield to ask them about the specifics and they gave me advise but they say they dont give a wiring install manual for a install in a vehicle like this. Spoke about bypassing the factory amp and such... Anyway the way I figure I have 2 choices buy (cheaper) and try to install myself, or buy in a store ($$$) and have them install it. If you have tried either way I would like to hear from you. Your experiences may save me a problem and will give me insight to make the right decision. I live in FL now and im probably gonna go for something w/ Navi to get around easier, so if you know something thats good Navi qualities please mention that also. Thanks

Old 09-30-2006, 02:55 PM
1st Gear
Default RE: In-Dash DVD install question

well...
not too sure about the BOSE, but i just did a Kenwood KVT-817DVD in my 99 A6 and it was quite a bit of work.

i mean i rewired the doors, placed the "brain" in the trunk and next week when the amps are going to be in i will finish it off.

also im not too sure if yours is a single or double din ( mine is single ) but metra's dash kit was pretty shitty fit, i mean i had to sand down some of the filler plate the make it fint into the factory bezzel.
the wiring is quite simple but very time consuming.