General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

electrical and audio problems in '02 A4

Old 06-29-2009, 05:22 AM
Default electrical and audio problems in '02 A4

Hello, I am new to this forum and I am a novice to the concept of forums in general, so please forgive any faux pas here. I registered specifically so I could ask this question—I could not find the answers anywhere else. This may be a long post—part history, part rant, part speculation, but hopefully there is a question or two in here somewhere that someone can actually answer. At least, maybe someone can commiserate or offer some general info. OK, here ‘goes:

First, my car is a 2002 A4 3.0 Quattro. I bought it from a private party when it was about 18 mos old and had about 18k miles. It now has about 70k. Warranty expired at 50k. My driving habits, driving style, usage and storage of the vehicle, maintenance, etc. is just about as typical and ordinary as one could imagine. The car has never been in extreme weather conditions.

The car is fun to drive. It’s solid—the ***** and handles alone are almost what made me choose this over a BMW, and in general I’ve gotten pretty much what I expected in terms of ride and performance. Were it not for the fact that I’m now a fortysomething family man instead of a twentysomething wildman, and maybe because I live in an area of 24/7 traffic congestion, the car would probably be even a lot more fun than it is.

But the car has been plagued by electrical-type problems I find surprising and unbecoming for a car of this class. Thankfully, most (but not all) were found and fixed before the warranty ran out. Here is a list of some of the problems I’ve personally had with this car—all were either fixed or have been identified:

• Faulty fuel tank fuel level sensors (affected gas gauge, estimated tank range, etc.).