General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

random tech - oil change and motor mounts...

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2010, 03:00 PM
1st Gear
Default random tech - oil change and motor mounts...

Ehh, just felt like blowing some steam here...

Absolutely thrilled with this site, I am new to DIY and it feels good...

Obviously there is some learning curve

Oil change went well, a bit of a mess without that bleeder for the filter canister, I am going to look into either getting a tool or making one...

Over the last month or two, I had a motor mount fail and another on the way...I got the non-hydraulic version by Stern and quite like the build quality and the fact that they are mechanical and can be rebuilt. I went ahead and got all mounts (2 motor, snub, and 1 transmission).

Passenger side mount was a real chore, and fortunately my dad was assisting that day.

Also, why the hell they don't give enough room at the jack points to get a floor jack up, and then put a stand under there I dinged up the underside just a bit, f**k it though.

Man those Stern mounts are FIRM. I been dicking around trying to adjust the snub, and re-installing and uninstalling the trans mount, swapping stock back in and out...

Learning curve comes here...

So I figured I must have stripped the connecting the trans and mount, as the bolt went missing...

So I order the bracket part...only to find that actually the whole assembly is considered the transmission mount. So basically I paid $200 for a bolt The part I thought I stripped was actually just a nut I had knocked into a position that was no way I was gonna get it started again

finished everything last night.